Sister Lund

Follow Lori and her LDS Mission in Brazil

One last time from São Paulo… January 30, 2012

Filed under: Brasil — companion of honor @ 9:42 PM

Hey There, one last time from São Paulo….

Good to know everyone’s in the know :) To say the least it’s been an
extremely strange week, lots and lots of tears, moments of peace,
laughs and everything in between. I don’t even know where to begin
with explaining how I feel because it changes every 5 sec.

President called Monday night and said he needed to talk to me and
Sister Felipe before the conference in the interior with Elder Godoy
on Tuesday so to be there early. We both got there super early but
President didn’t have time to talk to us. We were speculating about
what he could possibly have to tell us, probably about the area, I
know that the sisters that were there before had some serious problems
with the members not respecting them (they share the area with the
assistants and feel like they don’t need sisters…) Anway, the
conference was great and then afterwards President pulled us aside and
started talking… my head starts spinnig trying to figure out where
he´s going with everything when he tells us that in reality we don´t
have an area and that our release date has been changed to Feb 2nd.
Wait WHAT?! I kept waiting for him to say “Just kidding! Now go work
hard your last couple months” but that didn’t happen…. He mentioned
what Elder Godoy said in the conference about how he’s going back to
visit recent converts from his mission and strengthening them 30 years
later. President said we have one week to do that. I still thought he
was talking about Morumbi and I thought “what good will that do, we
don’t even know this area!” Then as President continued talking I
realized he was talking about OUR recent converts in OUR old areas.
That brought a little bit of comfort that we’d be able to visit our
old areas here in the capital seeing as we both served our whole
missions here with the expecption of the last couple of months.

After we left the conference we went to Alda and Ronaldo’s house where
she had planned on having a goodbye to Cerrado which turned into a
goodbye to Brazil. To say the least I wasn´t ok with life at that
point. I was a hysterical mess. I’d finally get myself together try to
eat something and then someone would say something that set me off
again and I just cried and cried and cried and cried. I thought it
would be hard to leave Cerrado in general but knowing that in one week
I’d be leaving brazil, made it so much harder.

Wednesday was so much worse. Half the mission was in the office for
transfers “hey sisters what area you going to?” “home…” cried
and cried and cried and cried. It was the worse feeling in the world.
I think in the first 48 hours of president talking with us I got 6 hours of sleep
(not in a row) and only stopped crying when I was sleeping.

Thursday was a really good day though… I was able to get a blessing
from the elders in the office which helped me to be a little calmer. I
was able to start eating again and not cry every 5 minutes. Then we
were able to go to the temple. I LOVE THE TEMPLE! I went in feeling
completely exhausted, drained, confused, hurt, disappointed, every
emotion you can possibly think of. I had one of the most spiritual
experiences of my mission in the temple (another time another place
I’ll share it…) and ever since then I feel so much at peace with
everything. Still don’t understand why it’s ending this way, why it
has to end now, but I have no doubt in my mind that it’s the will of
the Lord.

Saturday we made a trip over to Jaçanã which gave me a lot of closure.
We had lunch with Silivia and I can go home in peace, knowing that
she’s firm and solid. I thought it back then but on Saturday I thought
it again, if nothing else happened in the 16 months I was a full time
missionary, it was all worth it to see Silvia’s life change.

Yesterday we went to church in Vertentes and Caxingui. We didn’t want
to spend our last sunday on the mission in a ward that neither of us
served in so we asked the elders if we could go there. I think they
all feel bad enough for us they’d seriously let us do anything at this
point. It was a really neat experience to see everything come full
circle. My first and last sunday in brazil in the same ward. (I
understood a whole lot more this time :) ) I was really surprised at
how many people actually remembered me seeing as I only was there for
5 weeks and I didn’t speak the language. We sat behind a recent
convert family that my companions and I had picked them up as
investigators that first Sunday almost a year ago. In Cax, I sat next
to two young women who we were teaching back then. It was so neat to
see how many people that we were working with back then ended up
getting baptized and how they are active.
Today we’re spending one last P-day in the center with the other
sisters in the capital (Sister Wohlford is in my zone! For this
week…) Tomorrow and Wednesday we’ll be helping Sister Martins by
cleaning out some empty mission apartments and then Thursday we head
out. Sister Felipe and I have said many times this week that we´re glad we
have this week together.
To sum everything up…. I’m still in a state of disbelief, it doesn’t
feel real yet. I loved the chance to go back to Jaçanã and see
everyone. I don’t understand the reason behind the sudden change in
release date but I trust that it´s the will of the Lord.

I would do it all again in a heartbeat. It definitely wasn’t very
traditional; two countries, two languages, 3 mission presidents, 7-8
areas, 16 months, variety of companions… but I wouldn´t trade my
mission for the world.

I want to thank you all for all of the love and support. It made a
world of difference. I fully recognize that “I’m spoiled” and that
I’ve got it good :)

I know without a shadow of a doubt that this is the Lord’s work. That
the Church is true, the only true and LIVING church on the earth
today. We have a living prophet who speaks with God today. The Book of
Mormon is truly the word of God. The power of the preisthood is real.
Prayer is such a powerful tool that I´ve come to learn how to use more
than ever before. Through temple sealings our families can be togheter
forever (you’re stuck with me!) I know that Christ lives and that he
loves us. Our Heavenly Father has a plan for each and every one of us,
trust in Him, He knows what He´s doing.

I love you all, and I’ll see you soon!

Sister Lund

 

One Response to “One last time from São Paulo…”

  1. Debbie Knoblauch Says:

    Sister Lund,
    I have a son Elder Knoblauch serving in the Sao Paulo North mission and while looking online I came across your blog. I have enjoyed reading it and getting anothers take on the people and the area. Thank you for your service and I wish you all the best in your future.


Leave a Reply

