Sister Lund

Follow Lori and her LDS Mission in Brazil

Stick to the saving doctrine and you’ll be good May 2, 2011

Filed under: Brasil — companion of honor @ 7:06 PM

Hey there! Before I forget to mention, we’ve planned our mother’s day call for 3:30 my time. I have no idea what time that’ll be for you, but hopefully that works out. Hopefully that time works, I’m not sure how you’d let me know if it doesn’t… I’m excited to see and talk to you on Sunday!

That sounds like a really fun primary lesson with the Book of Mormon. I sure am thankful to have paper these days to keep my journal. It’s hard enough to write when it’s paper, I’m pretty sure if I had to do it on metal I’d have given up a long time ago. Sure thankful the prophets were more dedicated!

So this week’s excitement. We had a mission conference with Elder Anderson! It was a really neat question and answer session. I was asked to lead the music which meant I got to shake his hand twice, once when we all came in and once as he was leaving. He thanked me for doing such a good job :) years of practice waving my hand around really paid off! It really was a good conference. Some elders were asking some pretty out there questions and I loved how his response was often “I don’t know, but what I do know….” and then he’d go on to testify of pure doctrine. It was such a testimony that we really don’t have to understand everything, in fact in this life we never will, stick to the saving doctrine and you’ll be good. It was also fun to be able to see everyone from the mission. Now having been in three areas I’ve gotten to know quite a few missionaries here so it was a fun reunion. The best though, Elder Dearborn from my mtc district finally got his visa! Two days before an apostle comes is good timing if you ask me! It was fun to catch up on the last 4 1/2 months.

Other news from this week, I found out that Tabitha’s boyfriend from Imirim is getting baptized on the 14th!  But he was the one awhile back that we had stopped by her house to leave a message, asked if there was anyone we could teach and she half jokingly said her boyfriend… in walks in Rafael and we went on to teach him the first lesson. Turns out he went to church with extended family as a kid and has been missing the feelings he felt there growing up. He’s pretty much the definition of golden. It was such a testimony to the fact that there are so many people ready to accept the gospel, they just need the chance to hear it! And as members of the church, we need to offer them that chance!
Things are going well in Jandira. The ward has been amazingly helpful as we’ve been trying to figure everything out. One quick experience from the week. We watched the Restoration DVD with Malu and Luis and on the way home that night we passed a church almost on every corner all screaming various messages. It really made Joseph Smith’s description of the “war of words” over religion come alive. No wonder a 14-year-old boy was so confused. I’m so thankful that he had the faith to go to the source of truth, if anyone would know which church was true it’d definitely be God. There is no doubt in my mind that this is truly the Church of Jesus Christ on the earth today.

Thanks for all of the love and support! I can’t wait to talk to you on Sunday! Love you! Sister Lund

 

Leave a Reply

