Sister Lund

Follow Lori and her LDS Mission in Brazil

Happy Official Christmas season! November 29, 2010

Filed under: MTC Letters — companion of honor @ 4:36 PM

Any news from Alabama? Didn’t get a letter this week so I was just wondering how Elder Lund is doing :) Sister Powell wrote one of the sisters this week and said that her and Sister Stahley (who had been companions in the MTC) are companions again in the field. Not quite sure how that works as far as someone being trainer… but at least they’ll be able to keep up the Portuguese!

I’m actually reading Mosiah 1-5 right now in the Book of Mormon. I started when we reported and I’ve read a chapter or two a day since paying special attention to questions that are answered through the Book of Mormon that investigators would have. Those are some seriously powerful chapters!

Be sure to cheer extra loud for BYU this weekend!! I’m glad the game isn’t in Provo this year, it’d be rather distracting tomorrow.

Mom, I’ve been waving to you too every time I pass the front of the MTC this week. You’re sooooo close! I could throw a paper airplane and you’d get it :) Sorry to hear that you won’t be able to make it out to Michigan for Christmas. I’m glad Jeffrey and Kelli will though, that’ll be good for Grandpa to have company. I’ve tried to send a few letters with pictures here and there. Wish I could do more for him. I’m excited to get to talk to you guys though! I wonder where I’ll be!!!! We should find out this Wednesday. Sister Barnhill is going to Texas! Pretty sure we’re all hoping for some place warm :) As far as my birthday, I’ll most likely be flying out that day so I don’t really need anything as far as stuff mom. But I would LOVE if you find time, to write out your conversion story. I pretty much know the gist but I’d love to have that for my own record. You really are my hero mom :)

I hope you all had a fantastic thanksgiving!!! I can definitely say that this year was like none other before. Elder Holland spoke at the morning devotional. He is probably my most favorite apostle (not that I don’t love each and everyone of them… :) but Elder Holland’s way of speaking always really stands out to me. It was neat because he had his entire family with him; wife, three children, and 18 grandchildren. He started by saying that no one should be homesick today. He wanted everyone to consider the Holland’s their family for the day. It was good to hear because to be honest I had been thinking a bit of my own family right across the street. He had his grandchildren sing a primary song which was adorable!! He told us to consider these kids our little siblings, nieces and nephews for the day. It really was a sweet devotional. He talked a lot about the Savior and how grateful we should always be for his life and sacrifice for us. It reminded me a lot of the talk he gave a few years ago “None were with Him”. I love Elder Holland!!!

We then had a delicious thanksgiving dinner, cafeteria style :) It wasn’t quite the quality of Mom’s cooking but that wasn’t my expectations so I wasn’t disappointed. It actually was really fun to sit as a district and enjoy a Thanksgiving dinner together. We went around the table and said what we were all thankful for. I’ve seriously been so blessed here at the MTC. I have the most amazing district, wonderful companion, fantastic teachers, and the opportunity to hear apostles speak! I’m loving my experience here :) It really has been a blessing to be here in Provo.

After Lunch we had a program put on by President Breiholt of the MTC presidency. He spoke about the importance of the Book of Mormon in conversion. It really is such a powerful tool. Every question anyone could possibly have about the church comes down to the Book of Mormon. If they have a testimony of the Book of Mormon, everything else is either answered or doesn’t matter. Sister Owens and I found this out even stronger this week with one of our “progressive investigators”. He asked the question of how do we know that authority was ever really lost from the earth. After looking at each other, hoping the other would answer… it all comes back to a testimony of the Book of Mormon and the Prophet Joseph Smith. Through the 1st vision Joseph Smith was told that none of the churches currently on the earth had authority from God. Anyone can gain this testimony for themselves through reading and praying about the Book of Mormon, once they know this, they know the first vision did in fact happen and that God himself has said that authority was lost from the earth. EVERYTHING comes back to the Book of Mormon!

This week I’ve also spent a lot of study time trying to better understand dispensations. My testimony has been strengthened so much that the gospel is the same throughout every dispensation. Every prophet has taught faith, repentance, baptism, and the holy ghost. Each dispensation is unique but they all have this fundamental truth. As I’ve studied more and more about this, I know more than ever that the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints is truly the RESTORED gospel of Jesus Christ, the exact same gospel that has been taught from the beginning of the world. I feel so blessed to have the opportunity to share this knowledge with others. That God loves us just as much today as he did in the times of the bible and that we have a living prophet on the Earth President Thomas S. Monson who speaks to us the words of God today. The gospel is true, we have the truth!!! We really need to recognize what we have and share it with others.

I hope you have have a great weekend with Jeffrey and Kelli and that everything goes well with Bekka’s blessing. I’m looking forward to seeing pictures of our little princess! I love you all so much! Next week I should be able to tell you where I’ll be going in 10ish days!!!

LOVE YOU!!! Merry official Christmas season!!!!!!

-Sister Lund

 

Leave a Reply

