Sister Lund

Follow Lori and her LDS Mission in Brazil

Happy Thanksgiving week! November 19, 2010

Filed under: MTC Letters — companion of honor @ 8:11 PM

Hello all!

I LOVED READING ELDER LUND’S LETTER! It was so fun to read about him interacting with people who actually need to hear the message of the gospel. As fun as it is to teach fellow missionaries and teachers I’m really excited to apply what we’re learning here. Still no news about visas. Our district didn’t have any online applications called in this week either. Oh well, at least all 12 of us have gotten to stay together! I love our district!!!

This was a really good week. In relief society the lesson was on grace. Not in the sense that it is by grace that we are saved after all we can do, but more focusing on the fact that through grace we can do good works that when left to our own ability we couldn’t. This was a good thing to be reminded of, that missions definitely qualify as good works and that we can’t do it on our own, but through grace our efforts will be magnified and we will be able to find people who are prepared to hear the gospel. Very comforting to keep in mind! Devotional this week was Elder Pearson from the 70. He referred to 3 Nephi 5:13 all throughout his talk which made me think of the nights that both Travis and I were set apart because we each read this scripture right before. I love how bold it is in declaring that I am a disciple of Jesus Christ. Elder Pearson stressed that we need to understand who we are as missionaries, as representatives of the Lord Jesus Christ in order to be trusted with the elect.

We have SO many new Portuguese sisters!!! We were down to 5 of us who ate breakfast in the halls each morning and yesterday morning we had 11 all going to Brazil. It was awesome! Sister White reported this week and she’s the first sister I’ve met going to my mission! We’re pretty much thrilled beyond all reason :)

Another exciting achievement to share from this week… I figured out the snapping thingie! The big day was yesterday. Some elders were doing it in the hall and I just decided that today was the day I was going to figure it out. My right wrist is rather sore but I can make noise from flinging my wrist and a weird angle now :)

We taught our second Portuguese lesson in the TRC this week. As far as the words and phrases this week definitely went a lot better. I’ve noticed that we teach so much more simply in Portuguese than we do in English and that’s probably a good thing. Because we really don’t know how to say much we have to keep the message simple which is perfect because it really is such a clear and simple message that people need. We still need some work on the clear part though :) I feel bad for the volunteer who must have to work pretty hard to figure out what we’re saying. We both got the artwork book that Mom is using for sunbeams and have used it almost every time we’ve taught in Portuguese so that helps when we can point to what we’re trying to say :)

We got new sisters in our room this week! The other 4 hermanas all reported monday so sister Owens and I had a few nights of just us. The 3 new sisters are all English-speaking and going to various visitor centers. It’s weird to think that they’ll only be here one week past when Sister Owens and I leave because they’re not learning a language.

Our district was asked to be hosts this week for the new missionaries on Wednesday. It doesn’t feel like we’ve been here long enough yet to be the ones showing the newcomers around. I hosted a sister from Ellensburg Washington which was fun. Time really is so weird here. I feel like I’ve been here forever but at the same time it feels like just last week my host sister was showing me around and I felt like I’d never learn where anything was. We should be hearing where we’re being reassigned to in 2 weeks!

Well time has started flashing once again. It’s crazy how fast 30 minutes go!

I hope you all have a fantastic Thanksgiving week. Some things I’m grateful for:

Like I mentioned before, I’m thankful that Jeffrey is married so that I can hear how he’s doing through Kelli :)  my most favorite sister! I’m thankful that our family is sealed in the temple for time and all eternity. I’m thankful for the opportunity to be serving a mission at the same time as Travis and that we can share this experience with each other. I’m thankful for the most amazing parents who have set such a wonderful example for me and given me so many opportunities in life. I’m thankful for supportive friends and family. Most of all I’m so thankful for the knowledge of the gospel. I am so thankful to know that God loves His children today as much as He did in times recorded in the Bible and that He has again restored the truth and authority to the earth. I’m so grateful for Jesus Christ and for all that He has done for us. I know that this church truly has the fullness of the Gospel.

I love you all!!! Happy Thanksgiving!!!

-Sister Lund

 

Leave a Reply

